Dan Miron


Dan Miron was born in 1964. He studied History and Philosophy at the University of Bucharest. In 1995 he won the “Purgatory” section of the Nemira Awards, following which he published his debut novel The Fisher King’s Wait (1996). Polirom has also published his novel Little Plank...

read more

Excerpt from

Novel, Ego. Prose series, Polirom, 2013, 416 pages

Copyright: Polirom

Translation rights sold to: All rights available

Book presentation

Lucia, the author of a well known book review blog, one day receives a letter from M., who proves to be a secret admirer. She discovers that they are linked by a shared past, their grandparents’ families having been caught up in a vendetta that bears a striking resemblance to the tale of the Montagues and the Capulets. One day, in one of M.’s customary violet envelopes, Lucia receives the first chapter of a novel. Although her interest is piqued by the plot, set in the time of the Apostles, she begins to harbour doubts about the real motives of the mysterious M. Is it an unusual method of seduction or a cunning attempt to promote a novel via a widely read blogger? Between the epistolary game of seduction carried on by M. and Lucia’s conflicting inner experiences, the story of Natanael takes shape. Trying to discover the truth about the motives behind his brother Judas’s betrayal of Jesus and subsequent suicide, Natanael inspires John, later known as Mark the Evangelist, to follow his true vocation. A novel of love and betrayal, of forgiveness and failure, of the countless facets of truth and predestination.



© Copyright Polirom 2008. All rights reserved.

Web design & development by: svc & smorkov
Concept by: Florin Lazarescu